The Things I Stopped Buying

Beauty products.

Don’t get me wrong, I still buy hygiene products, but I’ve massively reduced my potions and lotions in the bathroom. I challenged myself to not wear any makeup until I was happy with my natural face. I think it’s important to feel connected to your skin in order to keep track of your overall health. Now I am happy enough with my skin that all I use is some mascara and a tinted lip balm and I am good to go!

My partner and I share a vegan-friendly shampoo (Sante Bio-Orange & Kokos) and body wash (Lavera Bio-Orange) which doubles as a shaving gel, and I use Hask hair oil on my hair afterward rather than a conditioner. I finish with Lavera Soft Creme on my face and body.

Sales or Discounted Products. 

Unless something has already been on my wishlist for quite some time (sites like Camel Camel Camel can help you track price drops on items you are interested in) I do not buy on sale. I realized that 9 times out of 10 I regret the purchase, so by breaking the habit of buying on discount I ended up saving more money overall.

Souvenirs 

When we travel or attend an event (gig, museum) it’s normal to buy a souvenir or even bring them back for your friends. There aren’t enough words in the English language to describe how much I don’t need a magnet from my boyfriend’s cousins trip to Florida. These days I skip the gift shop and only make travel purchases if there is a specific local item that I planned to buy before the trip.

Packaged Meals 

When I first moved to Berlin I was overwhelmed with all the vegan products available in stores. I bought a lot of stuff to try out, but many of them were overpriced meat substitutes that ended up hurting my stomach and skin for very little taste satisfaction. A minimalist approach to food – having a collection of staple items that I can mix and match for endless healthy meal combinations – helped me get my health, complexion,  and finances back on track. I also buy local and in bulk to reduce packaging and pollution caused by transport of products.

What items have you stopped buying? 

The Things I Stopped Buying

4 thoughts on “The Things I Stopped Buying

  1. Hi! I can very much relate with all that you’ve listed. Especially with the souvenirs! I have stopped buying souvenirs but that doesn’t mean that i’ve stopped receiving them. Souvenirs from family and friends are the number 1 enemy to my “zero wasting”/”minimalizing” since they’re not something you can easily refuse!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. erinlovestofu says:

      Haha, I know! I have managed to teach my family and friends but now I need to teach my boyfriends family (so far they have been pretty good!). Usually if they demand to get me something I just ask for tea.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re lucky then! As for me, i’m starting by not giving gifts anymore. I’ve found myself doing some explaining, tho, but hopefully that’ll send the message. Haha!

        Like

Leave a Reply

