Zero Waste – June Update

IMG_20170624_122538699

After another big shop at Original Unverpackt (our local zero waste shop) we are almost plastic free. Toothpaste was the last item in our bathroom where we still used a regular store bought product so we were delighted to find the toothpaste tablets below, and I am really pleased with the clean feeling I get after using them. Do any of you have experience with toothpaste tablets, toothpaste powder or homemade toothpaste? If so I would love to hear about it!

Screenshot from 2017-06-25 19-35-24

In the kitchen there are only two products that I still buy in plastic – rice cakes and tofu – but we will continue to search for options with more sustainable packaging. We found a local tofu maker, we just need to figure out how to get a private bulk order!

With the kitchen and bathroom just about done my next big project is sewing, I am really inspired by thrift store transformations and people like Lydia, ย April and Angela Lan (who is only 15!) that make their own wardrobes. I am pretty handy at mending, but I have a lot to learn about sewing so it will be an exciting new adventure to embark on.

I’m also currently planning our zero waste wedding which will be on Dec 1st 2017, I am not sure how much interest there might be in reading about that since all weddings are unique and personal anyway, but if anyone wants to find out more drop me a comment and I will write up a post!

Zero Waste – June Update

9 thoughts on “Zero Waste – June Update

  1. My wife and I switched to toothpaste tablets from a store called Lush, and we are really happy with them! Congrats on your switching to zero waste, you guys are a big inspiration :). My wife just recently got me some reuseable produce bags for the grocery store which is very exciting – we’re trying to eliminate as much waste as we can too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. erinlovestofu says:

      Awesome! We get our shampoo and moisturizer from Lush ๐Ÿ™‚

      It’s wonderful when your partner supports you, I guess we both got lucky!

      Like

  2. I’d love to hear about your zero waste wedding! I’m currently trying to cut down in plastic – switched to shampoo and conditioner bars and growing a lot of veg. Just wish there was a shop we could but grains with our containers!

    Like

    1. Erin says:

      They contain – Microcrystralline Cellulose, Sodium Bicarbonate, Silica, Sodium Lauroyl, Glutamate, Magnesium Stearate, Aroma, Menthol, Xanthan-Gum, Stevioside, Citric Acid, Sodium Fluoride, Eugenol.

      I haven’t researched the producer myself, but they are sold at Original Unverpakt and I know the team behind it and that they do a crazy amount of research into all of their products. I am happy with the tabs and would be totally satisfied to continue using them, but I also want to try making my own toothpaste. They sell a vitamin B12 enriched paste in the stores here in Germany which is great for vegans, and I want to try making a zero waste version.

      Like

      1. Thats a lot of stuff, I don’t know half of it ๐Ÿ˜‚
        Ahhh, it’s always good to have someone you trust to assure you it’s ok stuff. I’ll guess I’ll try it too! ๐Ÿ™‚
        We did try our own toothpaste for a week but I didn’t like it. We used a simple recepie, and I’m not sure about if it does all that it should. It’s hard to know what is actually what you need and what is pharmacistic power. My trouble with the one we tried was the taste, with more minty flavour it would have been better ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Erin says:

      I know all the ingredients, they are just latin names for fairly common things, like Stevioside is stevia which you have probably heard of. We are consulting with a dentist on our toothpaste, I am kinda crazy about oral hygiene so not going to take any chances!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

