A Plastic Ocean (Netflix Documentry)

plasticocean

There is no away – because plastic is so permanent and so indestructible. When you cast it into the ocean, it does not go away.

Sir David Attenborough

I really appreciate the trend of videographers teaming up with scientists and passionate members of the community to create ‘global movement’ films.

A plastic ocean is another documentary that seeks to give people the tools they need to make better choices. I’m already committed to being plastic free so you would think a film like this is preaching to the choir in my case, but I still found fresh information and inspiration to take away.

I knew that ocean plastic was entering the human food supply, but I did not realize to what extent this was already happening. I might be a vegan, but I still care about the millions of people who rely on fishing for their primary source of protein (not to mention my fish loving kitties!).

The biggest concern I hear about using reusable bags, cups, etc is that it’s hard. People are already struggling to juggle work, social commitments, health, kids and a million other little things and they just want to convenience of a plastic bag. Being passionate about a cause removes that mental hurdle, once you incorporate reusables into your life, this ‘new way’ to shop and enjoy your coffee becomes a habit, and it does not feel hard. I compare this to going vegetarian or vegan, the first month is the most difficult, but in time you can’t imagine doing it any other way.

Zero-waste options and alternatives are exploding right now, in my home city of Berlin I have seen two grocery chains introduce a zero waste section in just the past two months. You can’t have missed all the plastic-free July posts on social media. I’m not normally into trends, but this is one that I encourage all people to jump into head first!

You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today.

Abraham Lincoln

A Plastic Ocean (Netflix Documentry)

4 thoughts on “A Plastic Ocean (Netflix Documentry)

Leave a Reply

